GreatCall Reviews

Show reviews that mention
phone service customer service customer jitterbug flip phone flip number people calls
Filter review
Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Update by user Jul 25, 2019

I have been asked to provide an update. There has been NO response or concern by Great Call regarding their poor service.

My letters to CEO David Inns have been dutifully ignored.

My letters to COO Ray Morris have been dutifully ignored. My letters to CFO Brian Berning...

View full review
View full review
5 comments
#2028595

I TOO AM TOTALLY PISSED AT LIIVELY MOBILE PHONE SERVICE...PREVIOUSLY GREAT CALL, & PREVIOUSLY JITTERBUG. I CAN'T GET ANY RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE....DON'[T THINK THEY HAVE A CUSTOMER SERVICE.

I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CANCEL MY PHONE SERVICE WITH THEM.... HAVE BEEN FORCED INTO CHANGING MY CREDIT CARD SO THAT THEY CAN'T CHARGE ME ANY FURTHER......I STRONGLY STRONGLY STRONGLY RECOMMEND .......DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE...DO NOT GET ENTANGLED WITH THIS COMPANY..........CARL THOMAS

View more comments
ID
#1568333 Review #1568333 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Greatcall Mobile Phone Service
Cons
  • Robocallers
Reason of review
Robocalls NOT being blocked
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Close business as you exist to facilitate Robocallers

Error 5

Not satisfied with the customer service! Kindness on the other side of the phone would be appreciated next time!

User's recommendation: Don’t buy d.

View full review
ID
#3011370 Review #3011370 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Gurnee, Illinois

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I want to cancel my account.

my jitterbug phone is not working right..maybe it will dial niber for me maybe not...if i get caller on line i begin to talk and maybe after a minute it cuts me off,,, this is the second time i made account for this phone...i am not wanting to keep account any longer.... linda coonradt 518 339 5950
View full review
ID
#2946648 Review #2946648 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Jitterbug Cell Phone
Cons
  • Doesnt make call or it does cuts me off
  • Quality of phone reception
Preferred solution
account cancelled

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

They will not activate my phone, that i bought 2 yrs ago.

i bought the 1st gen jitterbug smart. didnt activate right away, as my old phone was still working. when i did call to activate it, they said they couldnt, that their system did not recognize the IME serial #. they said there was nothing they could do for me,im out the money i paid. 3 cust. service people said they couldnt do it, sent me to a su

User's recommendation: as soon as you buy the phone, activate it. or youre SOL.

View full review
ID
#2862250 Review #2862250 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California
Cons
  • Couldnt activate the phone
Loss
$125
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Untrained and obnoxius customer service reps

a box appeared on my phone that only allowed me to use "voice to text" = the box would not go away from the screen and wouldn't allow me to use the other phone features = customer service rep was an idiot and condescending and ill-advised = on phone for 40minutes with rep = spoke to supervisor (Brennon) who was just as bad = no help!

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY!

View full review
ID
#2756625 Review #2756625 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • All
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Order phone

We got phone it's still in box we were all exposed to covid. still sick so haven't had a Chance to get phone to her
View full review
ID
#2741952 Review #2741952 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Beaumont, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I have cancelled this service three times and great call continues to bill my credit card

I changed phone service in December 2020. I called in March 2021 to cancel the service. The first time I talked to a woman who assured me the service was cancelled. Great call continued to bill my credit card. I cancelled a second time in April 2021 and spoke to a man name Tyne (not sure of spelling). He said there was documentation the service had been cancelled. I also assured me that the service would be terminated, but that I had to pay $24.95 for the month. I just received another charge on my credit card for $45.00 I have been charged nearly $200.00 since the first time I cancelled serviceand I still can't get Great Call the service service.

User's recommendation: good luck if you want to cancel your service. You can end up paying a lot of money which I was told could not be reimbursed.

View full review
ID
#2684343 Review #2684343 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Terrible phone and customer service
  • Flat out lies as to what they would or not do
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund

I Have Three Phones and none working.

I was getting assistance with my phone activation when it started to get wild. I was told to remove the back off my new phone and check for serial number correctness. Well, the backs are hard to get off. I finally got one removed and the other must have been glued on with Gorilla glue. But one was different than serial number listed on the box. Also, evidently the tech moved right along and at the point where I should enter a phone number. Let the tech know we will have to

User's recommendation: Get assistance right from the start.

View full review
ID
#2671662 Review #2671662 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Monett, Missouri

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Deactivate 850-377-****

I got a Samsung Galaxy fore Fathers day. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
View full review
ID
#2624682 Review #2624682 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Milton, Florida
Cons
  • Come on i want to deactivate this service
Preferred solution
service deactivate
New Reviewer

Truely awful service

I am a senior living alone, Saw Great Call, also called Lively advertised . The advertising made it sound like it would be just the phone for a senior living alone. Purchased a phone and signed up for their service. When I tried to make a call I had no service. Returned the phone and cancelled the service. I am still being charged $56.22 per month and can not get the company to quit billing me. no helpSta

User's recommendation: Stay away from this company it is a scam.

View full review
ID
#2612493 Review #2612493 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Greatcall Medical Alert System
Pros
  • Customer service agent should be terminated
Cons
  • Parasites who prey on the elderly and infermed
Preferred solution
I would just like for them to quit billing me and just go away.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

To assist others similarly situated

The staffer who helped me was kind enough to help me find a flip battery. He helped. Others didn't. My battery in question arrived this morning, Jun 2, 2021. He helped me.

User's recommendation: Find the kindest staffer and keep him/her.

View full review
ID
#2584138 Review #2584138 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Tech support
  • Phone price
  • Good service with older phone deleting emails
Cons
  • Sales people do not know product
  • Inability to listen to customer
Preferred solution
Apology

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Refusal to replace defective phone

Update by user Jun 13, 2021

Great Call sent an e-mail. I gave them my e-mail and home phone number and said they could contact me at either one.

I have heard NOTHING from Great Call since.

The only resolution to this issue is that I have switched to another phone service. It does not address the issue with Great Call's phone.

Original review posted by user May 14, 2021
My Great Call phone malfunctioned. Great Call updated it and the phone became "corrupted" and now does not work at all, where it did work before (only some parts failed before I called them). Great Call will not replace my phone but expects me to buy one. The phone is not in warranty but it is Great Call's fault that the phone now does not work so they should replace it.

User's recommendation: Do Not Use Great Call For Cellular Service.

View full review
ID
#2552661 Review #2552661 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Jitterbug Cell Phone
Cons
  • Poor customer service
Preferred solution
A replacement phone sent to me at no cost to me.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I purchased a new Jitterbug Smart2 to use with a different carrier. After 3 days of calls with GreatCall (GC) and being told something different by literally every single person, I was finally told I "broke the phone" because I changed the SIM card - even though GC...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2495319 Review #2495319 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Smartphone appears to be simple to use
Cons
  • Drastically different answers to the same question
  • Terrible hours
  • Activation is a nightmare
Loss
$123
Preferred solution
I'd like to talk to someone in Tech Support that actually knows what they're talking about and will listen to my questions and answer THEM - not make up their own to fit the only answers they know. The run-around is completely inexcusable.

Disappointed

Got the phone. Cancelled when realized the vast majority of impaired seniors will not be able to use these phones. No one touch speed dial buttons. Phone sent back - if sending ensure you have tracking number and insurance to recoup your money. Company claimed did not get phone back. Charged a hundred and fifty dollars because claimed they couldn't find the returned phone even though they provided the return address. Billing is not legit - obvious with GreatCall it appears to be all about the money.

User's recommendation: Don't even think about it! Product does not work well with vulnerable seniors.

View full review
ID
#2465236 Review #2465236 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Chatsworth, Georgia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Did not get a full refund

I ordered a cell from this company but changed my mind the same day. I called them back to cancel the order. They said I was too late. The pkg got here I refused it like the sales person told me to do. I did not even touch the pkg. UPS delivered the pkg back to them unopened 2-25-21. The company still charged me a restocking fee of $10, shipping $10 and $3.31 for something they could not figure out why. I've protested the $23.31 to my cc company. I do not think this is fair or right.

User's recommendation: Be VERY CAREFUL IF YOU BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!

View full review
ID
#2445410 Review #2445410 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$23
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Preying on the elderly

My step-mother entered assisted living. Then I received her Great Call bill for $184. She was charged for every incoming and outgoing call. The person I spoke to was aggressive. He said that she should have picked a better plan. SHE IS 88 YEARS OD AND HAS NO IDEA HOW THESE THINGS WORK. The operator tried to sell me a new plan. I told him I already bought Verizon service for her at $20/month unlimited calls. He kept talking and talking until I yelled "Stop!' several times. I HATE to talk to people like that, but my god!!! I will be sure to tell everyone I know about this. I know many elderly people, as I see them every day at work.

User's recommendation: Stay away. Go to Verizon.

View full review
ID
#2442756 Review #2442756 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Preying on the elderly who do not understand cell phones
Preferred solution
Apology

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article